Looking back.

Ever have a time in your life where no matter what you say, or try, or do, you are left feeling that whatever it is you are doing and wherever you are, is wrong? Wrong, wrong, wrong? That was me, one year ago, October 2016. I was in the process of binding my root ball in burlap and readying for another move to another country. Why? Because.

Because nothing was working. Things were breaking down. My circle of friends was going through a winnowing process. My decade and a half of teaching yoga had come to the end of a protracted scene in which my Hardtail-clad corpse crawled to the edge of the stage, hacked up a fur ball, and died.

And then I began to work on my first extended piece of fiction. I began to write because someone said, “Go! Write!” Occasionally, I follow directions.

One year later, I continue to write. Every. Damn. Day. When asked, I tell people I am a writer. They ask, “What are you writing?” I rarely answer beyond, “Fiction”. The daemon sitting on my right shoulder prefers I not over-share. Not yet.

My daemon likes princess crowns and glitter. My daemon has a tail. My daemon is more reptilian than feline, and it feeds on the rush of words, and on time spent staring into space, and on copious amounts of rooibos chai with hazelnut milk.

My daemon would like to be the Daemon of an Author.

Back to work.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Well speaking of your yoga corpse: your yogic spirit lives on in your philosophic musings, power of observation, ability to live in the moment, willingness to embrace change and get rid of that which no longer serves you, your decision to travel lightly without the burden of materialism and acquisition while preserving art, cherishing personal mementos and keeping dear friends close to your heart and most importantly, continuing to evolve while enriching the many lives you touch. You may call yourself a writer; however, the truth is that you are a gifted teacher and spiritual guide. Instead of movement and breath, the written word has now become your medium and the blank page your canvas. As your words speak your truth, we will continue to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment